What Is Human Right Commission In Thailand?

The National Human Rights Commission, under the Law of the Republic of Thailand B.E, is an independent organization. This emerges from the driving force and the demands of the citizens to have an autonomous platform to uphold and protect the rights and freedoms of the citizen, in keeping with the power to liberty secured in this Constitution. The National Commission for Human Rights is comprised of 10 Commissioners lead by a chairman General Wasan Suriyamongkol (พลเอก วสันต์ สุริยมงคล, which is the term in Thai). According to the Constitution, the authority of the National Commission on Human Rights to present cases together with opinions to the Constitutional and Administrative Court.

The history of Human right commission in Thailand consists of two stages.

History Of the First Stage (2001-2009):

According to the Constitution of the kingdom of Thailand, the human right commission was elected by the King for six years. The Kingdom of Thailand constitution B.E. 2540 was repealed, but according to the National Human Rights Commission Act B.E.2542 the first batch was still in service in 2009.

Furthermore, two commissioners had terminated their responsibilities before the end of the term. While the president and eight commissioners stayed in service until the end of the term in, 2007, they had to wait for the National Human Rights Commission’s new batch.

History Of Second Stage (2009-2015):

The National Human Rights Commission’s second batch was named in 2009 in compliance with the Kingdom of Thailand constitution B.E. The National Human Rights Commission in section 256 consists of the Chairperson and six representatives nominated by the King with the approval of the Senate. The National Commission for Human Rights shall hold office for six years and shall serve for one period only. The National Human Rights Commission’s latest batch has been selected, which finished the period on 2015.

The history of the national human rights commission stayed six-year in each batch.